A bit of History


The Fort Worth Quilt Guild was formed by a group of avid quilters who wanted to:

  1. Educate, preserve, and encourage the art of quilt making.
  2. Promote a gathering of people with this common interest.
  3. Provide education and instruction for guild members and visitors in the history, design, and techniques of quilt making.



The Fort Worth Quilt Guild (FWQG) was established in September, 2001, starting with 48 members. Membership has risen to over 100 as of 2014.

The Quillow Project and ABC quilts were the first projects undertaken by the guild, endowed by grants from IBM and Lockheed.  In 2002, an annual raffle quilt project was initiated to provide funding for educational programs to further the members’ knowledge and skills.

FWQG’s first Quilt Show was held in August, 2008, at the Fort Worth Academy of Fine Arts.  The event has now become an annual affair, held on the first weekend (Friday and Saturday) of August.

FWQG is a member of the Texas Association of Quilt Guilds (TAQG).  A representative from the guild attends monthly TAQG meetings and participates in the state-wide meeting held once a year.  Participation in this association promotes the love of quilting, provides fellowship with other quilters, and expands quilting knowledge and history.

The Guild meets on the third Tuesday of each month.  A variety of informative programs about all aspects of quilting is presented at these meetings. Other meetings include two weekend retreats, workshops as needed to teach members new techniques, and workdays where members work together on projects.

Visitors are welcome to attend two meetings prior to joining the Guild.  Membership is open to all persons interested in quilting.  Annual (September 1 – August 31) dues are $25.00 per year.  The discounted rate for seniors (65 and over) is $20.00 per year.


 2001-2002                           Jo Spindle

2002-2003                            Janice Reeves

2003-2004                            Bev Ramsey

2004-2005                            Jonquele Jones

2005-2006                            Lynda Long

2006-2007                            Linda LaFleur

2007-2008                            Beverly Peterson

2008-2009                            Dollie Blevins



2011-2012                            Sherry Killebrew

2012-2013                            Dianne McGee

2013-2014                            Shelley Clauss

FWQG is a registered Texas non-profit organization as prescribed under Section 501 c3 of the Internal Revenue Service Code.